home > concorsi



international architectural award

The Corus sponsored Young Architect of the Year Award is now in its sixth year. The award was created with Building Design magazine, the leading weekly newspaper for architects, and aims to highlight and celebrate the very best of emerging architectural talent.

It is designed to encourage architectural renewal by recognising and promoting the next generation of architects, who will be responsible for shaping the future of our built environment. The award is open to architects aged 35 years or under and is the first of its kind ≠ there are many awards aimed at students and well-established architects but this is targeted specifically at architects at the start of their career.

Winnerís will be announced at an awards ceremony in London on Thursday 13 March 2003. Entries will feature in a special Building Design supplement to be inserted into the main paper on Friday 14 March.

Closing date for entries:
Friday 13 December 2002

All entries must be received by 5pm at the following address:
Young Architect of the Year Award 2003
Biss Lancaster Euro RSCG
69 Monmouth Street
London WC2H 9JW

For enquiries and an application form, please call Beverley Alton on 020
7539 2623 or email beverley.alton@bisslancaster.com

Entry criteria 

Entries to the 2003 award should meet the following criteria: 

Entrants should be 35 years or under on the closing date of Friday 13 December 2002

Entries will also be accepted from practices where the majority of principles are 35 years or under

Entries from practice employees should be accompanied by a statement from a senior partner or director explaining the entrantís role in any practice work submitted 

Entrants must submit a 10-page A3 portfolio which incorporates:

a CV giving education, employment history and date of birth

a statement about their architectural ethos 

a short summary describing their role and contribution in each project 

Work illustrated in the portfolio can cover all aspects of architecture Ė buildings, interiors, urban design, academic projects, landscaping, competition entries, civic architecture, structures, computer-generated work, furniture or other types of product. The portfolio will be expected to include any examples of the entrantís use of steel or aluminium.

Entries from architects with a strong philosophy or theory, but who do not have the back-up of built work, are encouraged.

UK entrants should be qualified registered architects and will be required to provide their ARB number. All overseas entrants should be qualified and registered with a local organisation that has a reciprocal agreement with ARB.

We welcome entries by past Young Architect of the Year entrants.

UK entries are particularly encouraged.

Shortlisted competitors should be able to provide images in transparency form (35mm or larger) or electronic format (.tif or .jpg format, 300dpi, at least 15cm across).

Note: While copyright remains with the author, it is a condition of entry that BD shall have authority to reproduce, for the purposes of the promotion of the Young Architect of the Year award, any copyright material of part thereof submitted by competitors.

Judging criteria 

Imaginative and powerful forward-looking ideas that are practically and aesthetically resolved and which generate a sense of excitement.

An understanding of materials and construction techniques and an ability to use them in an original and competent manner.

An ability to make a coherent presentation with sufficient information to demonstrate professional expertise while remaining accessible to a lay person.

An understanding of architectureís social, cultural and economic value.

The jury:

Each year Corus and Building Design secure a high profile panel of judges. Past judges have included leading architects such as Sir Norman Foster, Lord Rogers of Riverside, Chris Wilkinson, Amanda Levete, Will Alsop and Professor Nigel Coates. 

This year the judges include Cecil Balmond, Tom Bloxham, Richard Feilden, Marcus Field, Kathryn Findlay, Piers Gough, Nicholas Grimshaw, Amanda Levete, Paul Monaghan, Rowan Moore, Mohsen Mostafavi and the 2002 winners Eva Castro and Holger Kehne from Plasma Studio.

Selection interview:

Shortlisted entrants will be invited to attend an interview in Central London on 23 January 2003 where a quorum of the judging panel will interview them on their work and architectural ethos.

Website: http://www.corusgroup.com/youngarchitect

Per qualsiasi comunicazione
 Ť possibile contattare la
redazione di ARCH'IT

in rete

archit.gif (990 byte)

iscriviti gratuitamente al bollettino ARCH'IT news

© Copyright DADA architetti associati
Contents provided by iMage